Shreveport DWI/DUI Defense Attorneys
Defending Your Rights & Freedom
In the state of Louisiana, operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated can result in fines, imprisonment, and driver’s license suspension. If you have been charged with driving under the influence, the law office of Stroud, Carmouche & Buckle can help you fight your charges so you can keep your license and avoid jail time. Our Shreveport DWI/DUI defense lawyers have over 100 years of combined experience and are committed to defending your rights and protecting your future.
Arrested for DUI in Shreveport? Call Stroud, Carmouche & Buckle at (318) 217-8455 for a free consultation.
DWI Laws in Louisiana
It is a crime to operate an automobile with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08% or greater. Drivers can also be charged for DUI when they are under the influence of any controlled substance to the point where they are noticeably impaired.
According to Louisiana Revised Statute 14:98, drivers may be charged with DWI when:
- They are under the influence of alcohol
- They are controlled by a dangerous substance
- They have a BAC of .08% or higher
- They are under the influence of a combination of alcohol and a non-controlled dangerous substance
- They are under the influence of one or more non-controlled drugs that can be obtained with or without a prescription
Under Louisiana’s implied consent laws, you must participate in a field sobriety test if requested to do so by an arresting officer. If you fail a blood alcohol test or refuse to submit the test, your license will be immediately suspended.
Penalties for DWI
Not all DWI charges carry the same penalties. There are several aggravating circumstances that can increase the punishment brought against the defendant. For example, repeat offenders will face severer consequences than first-time offenders. While a first and second offense are charged as misdemeanors, a third offense becomes a felony.
The penalties for a DWI conviction based on the number of previous offenses include:
- First Offense DWI – a fine of $300 to $1,000 and 10 days to 6 months in jail
- Second Offense DWI – a fine of $750 to $1,000 and 30 days to 6 months in jail
- Third Offense DWI – a fine of $2,000 and 1 to 5 years in prison
- Fourth and Subsequent Offense DWI – a fine of $5,000 and up to 5 years in prison
Harsher penalties are also imposed for DWI when the driver’s BAC is more than .15% or a child under the age of 12 was in the vehicle.
License Suspension for DWI
If you have been arrested for DWI, you could be subject to two types of license suspension: one following the arrest and the other following a conviction. There are two ways a driver’s license can be suspended during the arrest. First, if you unlawfully refuse to submit a BAC test, it will result in immediate seizure of your driver’s license and a one-year license suspension. Alternatively, if you take the BAC test and fail it, your license will be suspended for 90 days. Repeat offenders with a conviction in the past 5 years will face a 365-day suspension.
If you are convicted for DWI, your driver’s license will be suspended for a specific amount of time determined by the number of DWI convictions on your record. A first offense DWI results in a one-year license suspension. A second offense results in a 2-year suspension, while a third offense requires a 3-year suspension term.
Take Action Today
Don’t risk making the wrong decisions concerning your DWI charges. Doing so may result in severe long-term consequences. Instead, trust the Shreveport DWI/DUI attorneys at Stroud, Carmouche & Buckle to build a strategic case on your behalf. We fight hard to keep you out of jail and on the road.
Having a qualified legal representative on your side can make a difference in the outcome of your case. For strong advocacy from determined lawyers, call (318) 217-8455 now.